Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
School of Law–Camden
Message from the Dean
About the University
About the School
Faculty, Staff, and Administration
Rayman L. Solomon
Aaron Ari Afilalo
Camille Spinello Andrews
Rebecca Baehr
Angela V. Baker
David Batista
John S. Beckerman
Linda S. Bosniak
Hon. Dennis Braithwaite
A. Hays Butler
Michael A. Carrier
Fred C. Chandler Jr.
Edward E. Chase
Victoria Chase
Jaydev Cholera
Roger S. Clark
Jason Cohen
Russell M. Coombs
Lucy Cox
Anne V. Dalesandro
Perry Dane
John H. Davies
Susan Shisler Doughty
Jay M. Feinman
Kimberly Kessler Ferzan
David M. Frankford
Ann E. Freedman
Steven F. Friedell
Jill Friedman
Sandra Gavin
Eric Gilson
George Ginsburgs
Sally F. Goldfarb
Ellen P. Goodman
Joanne Gottesman
Philip L. Harvey
Nancy Hawn
N.E.H. Hull
Richard Hyland
Pam Jenoff
John P. Joergensen
Donald K. Joseph
Harriet N. Katz
Eve Biskind Klothen
A. Kodzo Paaku Kludze
Donald R. Korobkin
Barbara A. Kulzer
Arthur Laby
Gregory Lastowka
Harry Litman
Arno Liivak
Michael A. Livingston
J.C. Lore
Jonathan Mallamud
Anne Mallgrave
Earl M. Maltz
Barbara J. Maylath
Theresa McCuen
Aman McLeod
Pamela Mertsock-Wolfe
Kimberly M. Mutcherson
Alison Nissen
John Oberdiek
Maureen B. O’Boyle
Craig N. Oren
Traci Overton
Dennis M. Patterson
Stanislaw Pomorski
Wendell E. Pritchett
Sarah E. Ricks
Ruth Anne Robbins
Sheila Rodriguez
Rand E. Rosenblatt
Nancy Rubert
Patrick J. Ryan
Meredith Schalick
Sandra Simkins
Richard G. Singer
Damon Yancy Smith
William M. Speiller
Stanley P. Stahl
Allan R. Stein
Beth Stephens
Rick Swedloff
E. Hunter Taylor Jr.
Gwen Tolbert
Rebekah E. Verona
Gerardo Vildostegui
Carl B. Viniar
Carol Lynn Wallinger
Robert M. Washburn
Robert F. Williams
Neil Wise
The Law Library
The Juris Doctor Curriculum
Course Listing
Academic Policies and Procedures
Divisions of the University
Camden Newark New Brunswick/Piscataway
  School of Law–Camden 2009–2011 Faculty, Staff, and Administration John S. Beckerman  

John S. Beckerman

Visiting Professor of Law. Professor Beckerman earned his A.B. in 1966 at Union College, where he was elected to Phi Beta Kappa; his M.A. in 1968 at the University of Iowa; his Ph.D. in history in 1972 at the University of London, where he was a Marshall Scholar; and his J.D. at Yale Law School in 1983. Before attending law school, he taught European history at Yale and Haverford College. Following graduation, he served as a law clerk for the Honorable José A. Cabranes, then U.S. District Judge for the District of Connecticut, and practiced law privately in New York City. He is a member of the American Law Institute and has published in the areas of civil discovery and professional responsibility, securities litigation, and the early history of English law. His classic article, "Let the Money Do the Monitoring: How Institutional Investors Can Reduce Agency Costs in Securities Class Actions" (with Elliott J. Weiss), inspired Congress to enact the "lead plaintiff" provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and is regularly cited as the definitive legislative history of those provisions, credited with inducing the participation of large institutional investors in class action securities litigation. Prior to joining the faculty at Rutgers, he taught at the University of Michigan Law School and Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, winning awards for excellence in teaching at both. He has served as a director of the Yale Law School Fund, a volunteer emergency medical technician on two community first aid squads, and a member of the New Jersey Supreme Court's Civil Practice Committee and Committee on Minority Concerns. Professor Beckerman served as the law school's associate dean for academic affairs from 2001-2008 and its associate dean from 2008-2009. He teaches in the areas of civil procedure, complex civil litigation, business organizations, securities regulation, mergers and acquisitions, and professional responsibility.

For additional information, contact RU-info at 732-445-info (4636) or
Comments and corrections to: Campus Information Services.

© 2012 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.