Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
School of Law-Newark
Academic Calendars
Dean's Message
About the University
The School of Law– Newark
Faculty and Administration
Stuart L. Deutsch
Ronald K. Chen
Frank Askin
Charles I. Auffant
Paul Axel-Lute
Allan Axelrod
Elizabeth A. Beebe
Bernard W. Bell
Karima Bennoune
Vera Bergelson
Cynthia Blum
Alfred W. Blumrosen
Thomas A. Borden
Frances V. Bouchoux
Neil H. Buchanan
Norman L. Cantor
Esther Canty-Barnes
Laura Cohen
Sherry Colb
David C. Condliffe
Marjorie E. Crawford
Charles Davenport
Donna I. Dennis
Claire Moore Dickerson
Janet Donohue
Jon C. Dubin
Jack Feinstein
Nicky Fornarotto
Gary L. Francione
Sandy Freund
Karen Fromkes
Linda Garbaccio
Lisa F. Garcia
Helen A. Garten
Suzanne B. Goldberg
Carlos González
Robin L. Greenwald
David Haber
Tanya K. Hernandez
Robert C. Holmes
Alan Hyde
Jonathan M. Hyman
Charles Jones
John R. Kettle III
Susan J. Kraham
Howard Latin
John Leubsdorf
Marcia Levy
Susan Lyons
Randi Mandelbaum
Gregory A. Mark
Marie Melito
Saul Mendlovitz
Kenneth Padilla
John M. Payne
Twila L. Perry
James Gray Pope
Roseann Raniere
Louis Raveson
Kevin M. Reiss
Carol A. Roehrenbeck
Andrew Rothman
Sabrina Safrin
Phyllis Schultze
Diana Sclar
Keith Sharfman
Annamay Sheppard
Peter Simmons
Alfred Slocum
Carter H. Strickland, Jr.
Evie Task
George Thomas
Paul L. Tractenberg
David D. Troutt
Jennifer N. Rosen Valverde
Penny Venetis
Anita Walton
Mark S. Weiner
School of Law Faculty from other Disciplines
Emeritae/i Professors of Law
Legal Research and Writing Faculty
Amy Bitterman
Marcia Crnoevich
Kimberly Guadagno
Barbara Hoffman
Emily Kline
Ernest Nardone
Amy Soled
Adjunct Faculty
Library Staff
The Law Program
Minority Student Program
Tuition and Fees
Financial Aid
Student Services
Student Activities
Honors, Prizes, and Awards
Course Listing
Academic Policies and Procedures
Governance of the University
Divisions of the University
Camden Newark New Brunswick/Piscataway
  The School of Law - Newark 2004-2006 Faculty and Administration John M. Payne  

John M. Payne

Board of Governors Distinguished Service Professor, Professor of Law, and Justice Frederick W. Hall Scholar. (Land Use; Constitutional Law; Torts; Current Supreme Court Term Seminar.) Professor Payne received his B.A. from Yale and his J.D. from Harvard. He has been on the Rutgers faculty since 1971, and served as associate dean from 1976 to 1981 and from 1986 to 1991. For more than 20 years he has been the key participant in the Mount Laurel cases, which have established the requirement that growing suburban communities include provisions for low and moderate income housing in their zoning regulations. His nationally recognized Mount Laurelwork has helped stimulate new approaches to housing opportunity, looking to a world in which decent shelter is considered a fundamental right.

Professor Payne also has been a driving force for historic preservation in New Jersey and critical to protecting the work and legacy of American architect Frank Lloyd Wright. Until the middle of 2003, he was the president of the national Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy and he has also served as a director of Preservation New Jersey, the New Jersey partner of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. He has lectured about Frank Lloyd Wright around the United States and as far away as Japan.

As an academic, Professor Payne has written and lectured extensively. He has published at least 15 articles on housing and historic preservation issues, in addition to his Mount Laurel writing, as well as coediting one of the most highly respected and widely used casebooks on land development and land law (Planning and Control of Land Development, 5th ed., 2001, with Daniel Mandelker).

For additional information, contact RU-info at 732/932-info (4636) or
Comments and corrections to: Campus Information Services.

2005 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.