Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
School of Law-Newark
Academic Calendars
Dean's Message
About the University
The School of Law– Newark
Faculty and Administration
Stuart L. Deutsch
Ronald K. Chen
Frank Askin
Charles I. Auffant
Paul Axel-Lute
Allan Axelrod
Elizabeth A. Beebe
Bernard W. Bell
Karima Bennoune
Vera Bergelson
Cynthia Blum
Alfred W. Blumrosen
Thomas A. Borden
Frances V. Bouchoux
Neil H. Buchanan
Norman L. Cantor
Esther Canty-Barnes
Laura Cohen
Sherry Colb
David C. Condliffe
Marjorie E. Crawford
Charles Davenport
Donna I. Dennis
Claire Moore Dickerson
Janet Donohue
Jon C. Dubin
Jack Feinstein
Nicky Fornarotto
Gary L. Francione
Sandy Freund
Karen Fromkes
Linda Garbaccio
Lisa F. Garcia
Helen A. Garten
Suzanne B. Goldberg
Carlos González
Robin L. Greenwald
David Haber
Tanya K. Hernandez
Robert C. Holmes
Alan Hyde
Jonathan M. Hyman
Charles Jones
John R. Kettle III
Susan J. Kraham
Howard Latin
John Leubsdorf
Marcia Levy
Susan Lyons
Randi Mandelbaum
Gregory A. Mark
Marie Melito
Saul Mendlovitz
Kenneth Padilla
John M. Payne
Twila L. Perry
James Gray Pope
Roseann Raniere
Louis Raveson
Kevin M. Reiss
Carol A. Roehrenbeck
Andrew Rothman
Sabrina Safrin
Phyllis Schultze
Diana Sclar
Keith Sharfman
Annamay Sheppard
Peter Simmons
Alfred Slocum
Carter H. Strickland, Jr.
Evie Task
George Thomas
Paul L. Tractenberg
David D. Troutt
Jennifer N. Rosen Valverde
Penny Venetis
Anita Walton
Mark S. Weiner
School of Law Faculty from other Disciplines
Emeritae/i Professors of Law
Legal Research and Writing Faculty
Amy Bitterman
Marcia Crnoevich
Kimberly Guadagno
Barbara Hoffman
Emily Kline
Ernest Nardone
Amy Soled
Adjunct Faculty
Library Staff
The Law Program
Minority Student Program
Tuition and Fees
Financial Aid
Student Services
Student Activities
Honors, Prizes, and Awards
Course Listing
Academic Policies and Procedures
Governance of the University
Divisions of the University
Camden Newark New Brunswick/Piscataway
  The School of Law - Newark 2004-2006 Faculty and Administration Alfred W. Blumrosen  

Alfred W. Blumrosen

Thomas A. Cowan Distinguished Professor of Law Emeritus. Professor Blumrosen has B.A. and J.D. degrees from Michigan. A labor arbitrator, he was chief of conciliation, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, from 1965 to 1967, and special attorney, Civil Rights Division, U.S. Department of Justice, in 1968. He has been a consultant to the U.S. Department of Labor, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, and many state and city civil rights agencies. He is the author of Modern Law: The Law Transmission System and Equal Employment Opportunity (1993); Black Employment and the Law (1971); and coauthor, with J. Blair, of Enforcing Equality in Housing and Employment through State Civil Rights Laws (1972). Professor Blumrosen was acting dean of the School of Law-Newark from 1974 to 1975. From 1977 to 1979, he was consultant to the EEOC with regard to agency reorganization, selection, and affirmative action guidelines. From 1979 to 1982, he was of counsel to the firm of Kaye, Scholer, Fierman, Hays and Handler in New York City. He received the Ross Essay Award from the American Bar Association in 1983 for his article on employment discrimination law. In 1993, he was a Fulbright Scholar in South Africa, examining whether the U.S. experience with equal employment programs would be useful in the postapartheid period. In 1998, Professor Blumrosen became director of the Intentional Employment Discrimination Project, funded by the Ford Foundation. In 2002, the project published "The Reality of Intentional Job Discrimination in Metropolitan America," a landmark study of intentional job discrimination in the United States and each state and metropolitan area, based on a statistical analysis of employer reports on the composition of their workforce, combined with legal standards to identify intentional job discrimination.

For additional information, contact RU-info at 732/932-info (4636) or
Comments and corrections to: Campus Information Services.

2005 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.