Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
School of Law-Newark
Academic Calendars
Dean's Message
About the University
The School of Law– Newark
Faculty and Administration
The Law Program
Minority Student Program
Tuition and Fees
Financial Aid
Student Services
Student Activities
Honors, Prizes, and Awards
Course Listing
Academic Policies and Procedures
Governance of the University
Divisions of the University
Academic Divisions
New Brunswick/Piscataway
Academic Centers, Bureaus, and Institutes
University Library System
Camden Newark New Brunswick/Piscataway
  The School of Law - Newark 2004-2006 Divisions of the University Academic Divisions Newark  


Newark offers programs at three undergraduate colleges and at four graduate schools. With an enrollment of approximately 10,300 students, it offers strong academic programs, excellent facilities, and an outstanding faculty.

Faculty of Arts and Sciences-Newark

Edward G. Kirby, Ph.D., Dean

The Faculty of Arts and Sciences-Newark was established in 1985 to expand and strengthen the instructional program for undergraduate students at the Newark campus. The combined faculties of Newark College of Arts and Sciences and University College-Newark offer courses and academic programs in more than 60 subject areas.

Newark College of Arts and Sciences

Edward G. Kirby, Ph.D., Dean

Founded in 1930 as Dana College, this undergraduate, coeducational, liberal arts college became part of Rutgers when the University of Newark was integrated into the state university in 1946.

College of Nursing

Felissa R. Lashley, Ph.D., Dean

The College of Nursing was established in 1956 as an expansion of the university`s offerings in the former School of Nursing of the Newark College of Arts and Sciences. Its graduate program is conducted through the Graduate School-Newark.

University College-Newark

Edward G. Kirby, Ph.D., Dean

University College-Newark is an evening and weekend college of liberal arts and professional studies serving part-time students since 1934. Within the context of the liberal arts tradition, University College students are offered a full range of courses and curricula, including programs in business and preparation for the professions leading to the degrees of bachelor of arts and bachelor of science.

Rutgers Business School-Newark and New Brunswick

Howard Tuckman, Ph.D., Dean

Rutgers Business School offers undergraduate and graduate programs on or through the university`s Newark and New Brunswick/Piscataway campuses. Rutgers Business School: Undergraduate-Newark is a four-year undergraduate school. It offers the bachelor of science degree jointly with either the Newark College of Arts and Sciences or University College-Newark. Rutgers Business School: Undergraduate-New Brunswick is a two-year, upper- division school offering programs in accounting, finance, management, management science and information systems, and marketing. The school admits students from Douglass, Livingston, Rutgers, and University colleges in their junior year. The bachelor of science degree is awarded jointly by the business school and the undergraduate college the student attended. Rutgers Business School: Graduate Programs-Newark and New Brunswick offers the master of business administration, an M.B.A. degree in professional accounting, a master of accountancy in taxation, a master of accountancy in governmental accounting, a master of quantitative finance, and a variety of dual degrees. The Ph.D. degree in management is offered jointly by the Graduate School-Newark and the New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Graduate School-Newark

Steven J. Diner, Ph.D., Dean

The Graduate School-Newark was established as a separate instructional division of the university with degree- granting authority in 1976.

School of Criminal Justice

Leslie W. Kennedy, Ph.D., Dean

The School of Criminal Justice, which opened in 1974, offers a graduate program that provides students with a sound foundation for work in teaching, research, or criminal justice management. The master of arts degree is offered through the school, and the Ph.D. degree is offered in conjunction with the Graduate School-Newark.

School of Law-Newark

Stuart L. Deutsch, J.D., Dean

The university`s graduate programs in law originated in other institutions. The New Jersey School of Law, founded in 1908, and the Mercer Beasley School of Law, founded in 1926, merged in 1936 to become the University of Newark School of Law, which became part of Rutgers in 1946.

Summer Session-Newark

The Summer Session, begun in 1913 and established as a division of the university in 1960, offers a wide variety of graduate and undergraduate courses during three sessions in the summer months.

For additional information, contact RU-info at 732/932-info (4636) or
Comments and corrections to: Campus Information Services.

2005 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.