Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Undergraduate-New Brunswick
About the University
Undergraduate Education in New Brunswick
Major Programs of Study
Minor Programs of Study
Certificate Programs
Honors Programs
Prizes and Awards
Organization of the Catalog
Programs of Study for Liberal Arts Students
Douglass College
Livingston College
Rutgers College
University College
Cook College
Mason Gross School of the Arts
Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy
Rutgers Business School: Undergradute
School of Communication, Information, and Library Studies
School of Engineering
Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
General Information
Camden Newark New Brunswick/Piscataway
  New Brunswick Undergraduate Catalog 2003-2005 Undergraduate Education in New Brunswick  

Undergraduate Education in New Brunswick

Undergraduate students in New Brunswick enroll in one of twelve degree-granting undergraduate colleges or schools. Four are liberal arts colleges: Douglass College, Livingston College, Rutgers College, and University College-New Brunswick; and eight are professional schools: Cook College, Mason Gross School of the Arts, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, Rutgers Business School: Undergraduate-New Brunswick, School of Communication, Information and Library Studies, School of Engineering, the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, and the School of Management and Labor Relations.

While all of the colleges are dedicated to providing the highest quality education, each college establishes its own admission, scholastic standing, and graduation requirements, and each offers specific academic programs that reflect the college's particular mission and philosophy. Students are urged to consult each college section both for a general description of the college and for a list of the academic programs that each offers.

In addition to the undergraduate colleges in New Brunswick, there is a large faculty unit, the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, that offers most of the academic programs available to students at the four liberal arts colleges. The Faculty of Arts and Sciences encompasses more than one thousand faculty members and offers more than forty major programs, as well as numerous minor programs and other specializations.

The degree-granting professional schools in New Brunswick, both undergraduate and graduate, each have their own separate faculty. Taken together, the Rutgers faculty in New Brunswick comprises a distinguished teaching and research staff of nearly two thousand faculty members.

Rutgers' Campus at New Brunswick is actually made up of five campuses located on both sides of the Raritan River in New Brunswick and Piscataway. The campuses are connected by a free, campuswide bus system. Four of the undergraduate colleges are residential colleges, offering a variety of living accommodations on the campuses. With the exception of students enrolled at University College- New Brunswick, who are commuters, students at the other schools affiliate with one of the residential colleges for housing and/or student services.

The university's extensive facilities and extracurricular activities are described in the Student Life and Services chapter.

For additional information, contact RU-info at 732/932-info (4636) or
Comments and corrections to: Campus Information Services.

2005 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.