Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Graduate School New Brunswick
About the University
Graduate Study at the University
Other Graduate Study at the University
Degree Programs Available
Financial Aid
Student Services
Academic Policies and Procedures
Student Responsibility to Keep Informed
Registration and Course Information
Matriculation Continued
Summer Registration
Change of Registration and Withdrawal
Transfer of Credit
Intercollege Registration
Multiple School Registration
Interuniversity Doctoral Consortium
Rutgers–Princeton Cooperative Exchange Program
New Brunswick Theological Seminary, UMDNJ-RWJMS, Drew University, and New Jersey Institute of Technology Exchanges
Courses Taken “Not-for-Credit”
Auditing Courses without Registration
Graduate Enrollment in Undergraduate Courses
Undergraduate Enrollment in Graduate Courses
Minimum and Maximum Program Commitments in a Given Semester
Full- and Part-Time Students
Change of Program
Change of Status
Readmission or Restoration of Active Status
Class Schedules and Hours
Grades and Records
Academic Standing
Rutgers University Interim Academic Integrity Policy
University Code of Student Conduct Summary
Peer-to-Peer File Sharing
University Safety and Security
Office for Violence Prevention and Victim Assistance
Services for Students with Disabilities
Administrative Procedures for Responding to Disruptions
Policy Prohibiting Discrimination and Harassment
Policy against Verbal Assault, Defamation, and Harassment Summary
Drug-Free Schools and Campuses Act
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act Reports
Graduation Rates
Teacher Preparation Program Pass Rates
Student Records and Privacy Rights under FERPA
Student Residency for Tuition Purposes
Research Policy and Research Centers
Patent Policy
Degree Requirements
Programs, Faculty, and Courses
Research Centers, Bureaus, and Institutes
Divisions of the University
Camden Newark New Brunswick/Piscataway
  Graduate School–New Brunswick 2010–2012 Academic Policies and Procedures Registration and Course Information Interuniversity Doctoral Consortium  

Interuniversity Doctoral Consortium

The Graduate School–New Brunswick participates in the Interuniversity Doctoral Consortium, an arrangement among the eight major arts and sciences graduate schools in the New York metropolitan area that enables Ph.D. students in the arts and sciences to take courses offered by other consortium members through a simple interuniversity registration process. The other participating graduate schools are Columbia, Fordham, the Graduate Center of the City University of New York, New School University, New York University, Princeton, and the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Arts and sciences and education Ph.D. students in their second year of graduate study and beyond are eligible to apply through the graduate school dean's office. Policy and procedures can be found in the Graduate Student Online Registration Policy Library at the registrar's website,

Students wishing to take courses at Princeton should use the Rutgers-Princeton Cooperative Exchange Program described later in this chapter, rather than the Interuniversity Doctoral Consortium. 

For additional information, contact RU-info at 732-445-info (4636) or
Comments and corrections to: Campus Information Services.

© 2012 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.