Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
The Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology
About the University
About the School
Faculty and Administration Biographies
Areas of Faculty Research and Clinical Work
Administration and Faculty
Academic Programs
Degree Requirements
Degrees Conferred, Dissertations, October 2012-May 2015
Financial Aid
Academic Policies and Procedures
Student Services
Student Groups at GSAPP
Graduate Student Association (GSA)
GSAPP Awards
GSAPP Alumni Organization
Course Listing
Divisions of the University
Camden Newark New Brunswick/Piscataway
  Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology 2014–2016 Student Services GSAPP Awards  

GSAPP Awards

Virginia C. Bennett Award. This award is presented annually to the doctor of psychology student who evidences dedication to the use of psychological skills and knowledge to alleviate problems of minority-group children in coping with the educational process. The award was established in 1983 by students, alumni, colleagues, and friends of Virginia C. Bennett on the occasion of her retirement from the Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology (GSAPP).

Dean's Award for Contribution to Student Life. Presented annually to the students who have done the most to foster and enhance the quality of life at GSAPP during the academic year.

Cyril M. Franks Award for Excellence in Research. This award was instituted in 1992 to honor Dr. Franks on his retirement from the faculty. It is presented each year to a graduating student whose doctoral dissertation, completed during the previous 12 months, evidences outstanding scholarship.

Peterson Prize. Instituted in 1990 to honor the first dean of the school, Donald R. Peterson, it is awarded annually to a GSAPP graduate who, through a sustained career in professional psychology, has contributed to the public good at the highest level of distinction. Candidates must have earned the doctoral degree at least five years prior to receiving this prize.

Robert D. Weitz Professional Award. Established in 1976, this award is presented annually to the graduating student whose energy, spirit, and enthusiasm evidence a dedication and willingness to work in the interests of professional psychology and the people it serves. The recipient is decided by a vote of all students eligible for the award, all full-time faculty, and all visiting faculty members in residence during the academic year.

For additional information, contact RU-info at 732-445-info (4636) or
Comments and corrections to: Campus Information Services.

© 2015 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.